Skip to Content


Fire Department

Wayne Fire Department
Founded in 1938

The organization of the Wayne Fire Department was started in 1938. This was primarily prompted by two very bad house and barn fires in the village. Since that time the Town of Wayne has had a very active and reliable fire department.

Wayne Fire Department Officers

  • Bryan Starkweather, Chief
  • Lukas Dickerson, 1st Assistant
  • Nate Cook, 2nd Assistant
  • Kyle Decenburg, Captain
  • Bill Bason, Captain
  • Mary Starkweather, EMS Captain
  • Lindsey Cook, EMS Lieutenant
  • Chris Curry, President
  • Jim McAfee, Vice President
  • Mary Starkweather, Secretary
  • Chris Bason, Treasurer

Board of Commissioners

  • Don Horton, Chairman
  • Ken Cornish
  • Gary Gray
  • Steve Veley
  • Autumn Serdula
  • Mary Starkweather, Secretary
  • Angie Cornish, Treasurer

We Need Volunteers!

To become a member of the Wayne Fire co. one must be 18 years of age and permanently reside within the Wayne Fire District. A candidate for membership is nominated by the Chief, approved by the Trustees, the Fire Company membership and the Board of Commissioners. The new member is required to perform all duties of a volunteer fireman, including service at the fire scene, attendance of at least six meetings per year, and satisfactory completion of the Essentials Firemanship Course. A one year probationary period is instituted after which approval or disapproval is given. Once the requirements have been fulfilled and approval given the candidate becomes a member.

Contact the Wayne Fire Department at (607) 292-3380

PO Box 72

Wayne, NY  14893

Come enjoy breakfast at the Fire Hall on the 2nd Saturday of each month provided by the Auxiliary.

If you have a disability and are having trouble accessing information on this website or need materials in an alternate format, contact us for assistance.